Maura Brouwer, right, and a student do a high-five

πŸŽ‰β€οΈ Congratulations to all the 2024 BCS District Teachers of the year. At the Sept. 12, 2023, Teacher of the Year banquet, the BCS Communications Department celebrated all seven district winners. Watch their individual videos below, or view the full video presented at the banquet! 

🌟 Susan Rana (Glen Arden Elementary School), Roberson District winner
🌟 Maura Brouwer (A.C. Reynolds High School), Reynolds District winner and overall winner
🌟 Canaan Frisby (Johnston Elementary School), Erwin District winner
🌟 Nicole Washburn (Martin L. Nesbitt, Jr., Discovery Academy), At-Large District winner
🌟 Ashley Styles (Black Mountain Primary School), Owen District winner
🌟 Mike Rowe (North Buncombe High School), North Buncombe District winner
🌟 Misty Brooks (Candler Elementary School), Enka District winner

The banquet also honored this year's Ruth Henderson Award winner, Kristy Moore (Joe P. Eblen Intermediate School).

Thanks to our emcee, WLOS ABC 13 Chief Meteorologist Jason Boyer, as well as our wonderful sponsors - Pierce Group Benefits, Buncombe County Schools Foundation, HomeTrust Bank, Lifetouch, and Becky's Florist.

Additional thanks go to Celine and Company Catering - The Hideaway for hosting the event.